Imo Lawmaker Defects From PDP To APC


Imo Lawmaker Defects From PDP To APC


The Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Public Petition, Jerry Alagbaoso, on Tuesday, tendered his resigned from the Peoples Democratic Party.

Alagbaoso, who tendered his resignation letter on the floor of the House, also announced he has made the decision to join the ruling All Progressives Congress.

Alagbaoso’s defection comes less than one month before the end of the expiration of the tenure of the current National Assembly.

In a letter read on the floor of the House on Tuesday, Alagbaoso said all was not well with the PDP in Imo State.

He said, “All is not well in Imo State, PDP. This explains why three of our colleagues from Imo State and PDP extraction in the House of Representatives defected to the APC a few weeks ago.

“I will not be an exception considering the man-made confusion and headaches of PDP in Imo.

“What is happening in Imo PDP is not satisfactory to those people (members) and my colleagues who crossed over, and it is also not satisfactory to me.

“The time for me to leave PDP and join my colleague and join my brothers in APC is now,” he said.

Alagbaoso also noted that he is joining the ruling party to work with Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State.

“I am leaving PDP because of the positive achievements of the performing governor of Imo, who is of APC extraction. His achievements so far are worthy of commendation.

“I, therefore, wish to join him (Uzodimma) to move Imo state further to the centre, just as Imo state elders have advised all politicians in Imo state origin to allow the governor to complete his second term because of his great achievement in Imo.”

The minority leader, Ndudi Elumelu (PDP, Delta) attempted to challenge Mr Alagbaoso’s defection, but he was not recognised by Mr Gbajabiamila, who later described the defection as “an earthquake moment”.

“It is indeed an earthquake moment. That is why I allowed him to read the letter so that you can hear from the horse’s mouth,” Gbajabiamila said.

Alagbaoso represents Orlu/Orlu/ Oru East Federal Constituency in Imo State. He emerged third in the PDP primary won by Jones Onyerere back in 2012. The primary was, however, nullified by the Supreme Court.