Senate Presidency: North-Central Lawmakers Reject APC Preferred List


Senate Presidency: North-Central Lawmakers Reject APC Preferred List

Senators-elect across the North-Central geopolitical zone from different political parties have rejected the zoning arrangements for the 10th National Assembly leadership positions announced by the All Progressives Congress on Monday.

The APC had in the zoning plans endorsed Godswill Akpabio from the South-South geopolitical zone as the President of the 10th Senate, while Barau Jibrin from the North-West was picked as his deputy.

Also in the House of Representatives, the APC endorsed Tajudeen Abbas from the North-West as the Speaker and Benjamin Kalu from the South-East as Deputy Speaker.

The development forced the North-Central senators-elect to write an open letter to the National Chairman of the APC, Abdullahi Adamu, and rejected the zoning arrangements because it excluded their region.

Specifically, the elected federal lawmakers said only the North-Central geopolitical zone did not produce any presiding officer although neither the President-elect nor the Vice President-elect.

The letter by the lawmakers-elect was titled, ‘Resolution of the North Central Caucus of the 10th Senate on NASS Leadership Zoning’.

The letter was signed by 18 senators-elect including: Mohammed Musa (Niger East); Ashiru Oyelola (Kwara South); Sadiq Umar (Kwara North); Mustapha Saliu (Kwara Central) and Isah Jibrin (Kogi East).

Others are: Abba Moro (Benue South); Godiya Akwashiki (Nassarawa North); Ahmed Wadada (Nassarawa West); Ireti Kingibe (FCT); Sunday Steve (Kogi West); Ohere Abubakar (Kogi Central), and Peter Jiya (Niger South).

They also included Napoleon Bali (Plateau South); Mwadkion Davou (Plateau North); Diket Plang (Plateau Central); Mohammed O. Onawo (Nasarawa South); Emmanuel M. Udende (Benue East) and Titus Zam (Benue West).

Parts of the letter read, “We the North-Central senators-elect caucus met on Monday the 8th May 2023 and resolved as follows:

“That the North-Central as a geopolitical zone in Nigeria has paid its dues in the political stability of the country and shall continue to do so, but where we see an open denial of our rights and privileges, we will have no option than to voice out in the interest of the zone and it’s people we represent.

“It is pertinent to know that we are fully committed to supporting the incoming administration of the President-Elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu for a better Nigeria.

“This can only happen if fairness, equity and justice are ensured. It is on record that the North Central gave the APC 41 per cent of her votes to victory, hence we  equally deserve as others.”

The letter added, “Our caucus reviewed the proposed zoning structure released, and we are not pleased and comfortable with the allocation of the Positions of the Deputy Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the 10th National Assembly to a particular geopolitical zone of the country (North-West), we hereby reject it.

“The convention has always been that the six geopolitical zones of the country will have one each of the six positions.

“Now that the South West and North East have produced the President-elect and Vice President-Elect respectively, it is only fair and natural that the positions of the Senate President, Deputy Senate President, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives should be shared amongst the other four geopolitical zones, that is the North Central, South-South, South East and North West.”

The letter further included, “Sequel to the above, we as a caucus is calling on the All Progressives Congress (APC) to immediately retract its earlier decision which schemes us out of the power-sharing formula of the Country and cede the position of the Deputy Senate President to the North Central Zone to ensure fairness, equity and justice for a smooth 10th Senate.”