Osun 2018: INEC Releases Timetable

Osun 2018: INEC Releases Timetable
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Thursday released the timetable for the Osun State governorship election coming up this year in line with the provision of Electoral Act.
Briefing newsmen in Osogbo, the new Resident Electoral Commissioner Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, also disclosed that 411,438 Permanent Voters Card out of 1,407,235 registered voters in 2015, are yet to be collected.
According to him, notice of election would be June 23 while commencement of public campaign by political parties has been slated for June 24.
He stated that conduct of party primaries including resolution of disputes arising from the primaries would be between June 24 and July 23.
Agbaje said August 22 would be the last day for the submission of nomination forms by political parties while campaigns would end on September 20.
According to him, the date for the election remained 22nd September, 2018.
He promised that INEC would ensure a free, fair and transparent election that would be acceptable to the people of the state.
The Commissioner also urged journalists and other stakeholders to support the commission in its effort to conduct credible election come September 22.
He said, “we have the mandate to provide a level playing ground for all players and we expect in return the cooperation of all stakeholders.
“To the press, we expect you to join hands with the commission to maintain equity and justice before, during and after the process.
“On our part, we promise to operate an open door policy and ensure the entrenchment of all the core values and standards of INEC with zero tolerance for electoral fraud.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password