APC’s Nwifuru Declared Winner Of Ebonyi Guber Election


APC’s Nwifuru Declared Winner Of Ebonyi Guber Election

The Independent National Electoral Election in Ebonyi State, on Monday, declared the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the 2023 general election, Francis Nwifuru, as the winner of the polls in the state.

Declaring Nwifuru winner of the governorship contest, the State Returning Officer, Prof. Charles Igwe, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, said he scored the highest number of votes cast.

As issued by INEC, while Nwifuru secured 199,131 votes; the Peoples Democratic Party governorship candidate, Dr Ifeanyi Odii, polled 80,191 votes. The third runner-up, the All Progressives Grand Alliance governorship candidate, Prof. Benard Odoh, scored 52,189 votes.

Announcing the results, the RO, said, “I, Prof. Charles Igwe, the Returning Officer for the 2023 governorship election in Ebonyi State and the co-chairman of the State Collation Panel, thank all party agents here present and the distinguished members of the public, and members of the fourth estate of the realm.

“I, Prof. Charles Igwe, hereby certify that I am the RO for the governorship election in Ebonyi State, held on the 18th of March, 2023.

“The Election was contested and the candidates received the following votes: Nwandugo Chukwuma, AA, 554; Nwono Benard, ADC, 673; Ozioma Kenneth, ADP, 578; Nwifuru Francis, APC, 199, 131; APGA, 52,189; APM, 206; APP 99;

LP, 6793; NNPP, 674; NRM, 310; PDP, 80191; SDP, 126; and YPP, 280.

“I hereby declare the Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Francis O. Nwifuru, as the winner of the election having secured the highest number of votes cast.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here