APC Sweeps Osun House Of Assembly Election

APC Sweeps Osun House Of Assembly Election


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 22 seats out of the 26 members of Osun State House of Assembly.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has three members of the House elected on its platform while one state constituency was declared inconclusive.

The APC candidates won the following Constituencies: Boripe/Boluwaduro – Popoola Simeon, Ifelodun – Jimoh Abiola, Ila – Adebisi Adelani, Ifedayo – Abioye Elizabeth, Irepodun/Orolu – Olateju Babatunde, Odo-Otin – Adetoyi Michael, Olorunda – Akande Kunle,  Osogbo -Badamosi Olatunde, Atakumosa East/West – Komolafe Festus.

Others include: Ife Central – Adebusola Taiwo, Ife East – Adeyeye Nurudeen, Ife North – Babatunde Olatunji, Ife South – Ogundipe Olugbenga, Ilesa East – Timothy Owoeye, Ilesa West – Adewale Adedoyin, Ayedaade – Olodo Taiwo, Ayedire – Ogundana Gbenga,  Egbedore – Ibirogba John, Irewole/Isokan – Olanrewaju Ajibola, Olaoluwa – Adegbile Adirulahi  and Ejigbo – Oyekunle Adekunle.

Those elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party include: Adeyemi Adewumi – Obokun, Kofoworola Adewuni – Ede North and Stephen Akanfe – Ede South while the Oriade state constituency was declared inconclusive because the numbers of invalid votes recorded is higher than the margin between the leading contestant and the runner-up.

In its reaction, the APC described its victory in Saturday’s House of Assembly election as a clear, emphatic statement of the people in Osun that they want good governance to continue in the state.”

In a congratulatory message to the electorate and the entire people of the state, signed by the party’s director of publicity, Barrister Kunle Oyatomi, the APC described its success at the polls as “a clear victory for the people.”

According to the party, what the majority of our people have indicated is that, “it makes sense to continue with what had been happening in the state since 2010.

“This is more so because the successor of Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, (Governor Gboyega Oyetola), was himself at the core of implementation of APC development agenda right from the beginning.

“And Oyetola’s first moves since he took over three months ago as Governor have been positively symbolic of what to expect.

“So, continuity is secured, further progress is guaranteed and the future promises to be even brighter with such a seamless transfer of power from one to the other administration in the State of Osun”, the APC said.

The party said that the present governor stands a better chance of improving on the quality of policy making and implementation.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password